Regional Structures

Local, regional, diocesan- and national structures help us to do ministry together so that we may serve God and the world.

The following section outlines basic regional and diocesan structure in the Diocese of Virginia.


The Diocese has 15 regions, determined by geography. Each region has a Regional Council, composed of members elected by the churches in each region. Each region has an elected President, who is a lay person, and an appointed Dean, who is a clergy person.

Region I: Fredericksburg, Culpeper and surrounding areas
Region II: The Northern Neck and Middle Peninsula
Region III: Arlington
Region IV: Alexandria
Region V: Northern Fairfax
Region VI: Alexandria south to Woodbridge
Region VII: Western Fairfax
Region VIII: Falls Church and Annandale
Region IX: Richmond east to New Kent and Charles City counties
Region X: Richmond city
Region XI: Northern Richmond north to Ashland and Hanover
Region XII: Richmond west through Goochland County
Region XIII: Loudoun and Fauquier counties
Region XIV: Shenandoah Valley
Region XV: Charlottesville north through Green and parts of Orange counties

Province III

The Diocese of Virginia is part of the Third Province of the Episcopal Church. The Province is governed by a Provincial Synod. Each Diocese elects deputies to represent the Diocese to the Synod.