Our Bishops

The Diocese of Virginia has three bishops:

  • The Rt. Rev. Shannon Sherwood Johnston, Diocesan Bishop
  • The Rt. Rev. Susan Ellyn Goff, Bishop Suffragan
  • The Rt. Rev. Robert Wilkes Ihloff, Bishop Associate

The diocesan bishop is the Rt. Rev. Shannon Sherwood Johnston. Bishop Johnston was elected on January 26, 2007, and consecrated in the Washington National Cathedral on May 26, 2007. He lives in Richmond with his wife, Ellen. [More]  

Contact Bishop Johnston
Download his portrait photo


The Rt. Rev. Susan Ellyn Goff is the bishop suffragan of the Episcopal Diocese of Virginia. She was consecrated on July 28, 2012 at St. Paul's, Richmond. [More]

Contact Bishop Goff
Download her portrait photo


The Rt. Rev. Robert Wilkes Ihloff has been appointed by the Rt. Rev. Shannon S. Johnston to serve as Bishop Associate during the transition time leading to the election of a second Bishop Suffragan. [More]

Contact Bishop Ihloff
Download his portrait photo

About Bishops 

A diocesan bishop is the ecclesiastical authority in a diocese, elected by the diocese to serve until he or she retires or dies. A bishop suffragan is elected by a diocese to assist the diocesan bishop. Neither an assistant nor a suffragan has the right of succession. A bishop coadjutor is elected to succeed a diocesan bishop and traditionally assists the diocesan for a specified period of time before being installed as the diocesan. An assistant bishop is an already-consecrated bishop appointed to serve a diocese, often for a specified period of time.

Portrait Download Instructions

To download a bishop's photo for church use, click on the link that says "Download his/her portrait photo." Right click on the enlarged image and save the photo to your computer. You can then print the photo for church use.

Photo Credit: Jay Paul