General Convention

General Convention is the triennial meeting of the Episcopal Church. The last General Convention took place in July 2018 in Austin, Texas. The next Convention will take place in July 2022 in Baltimore, Maryland.

In November, 2019, the 225th Annual Convention of the Diocese of Virginia elected deputies to the 2022 General Convention. The elected deputies will serve for three years.  

The current class of deputies to General Convention for the Diocese of Virginia will complete their terms at the 228th Annual Convention. They are:


Clergy Alternate

The Rev. Dr. Hilary B. Smith The Rev. Justin McIntosh
The Rev. Sven L. vanBaars The Very Rev. J. Randolph Alexander, Jr.
The Rev. Daniel Velez-Rivera The Rev. Dorota Wright-Pruski
The Rev. Dr. Robert W. Prichard The Rev. Andrew Moore



Lay Alternate

Mr. JP Causey Jr., Chair of Deputation Ms. Ellyn Crawford
Ms. Diane Wright Ms. Cindi Bartol
Mr. Russell Randle Mr. Steve Walker 
Ms. Patty Gould Rosenberg  


Submit questions or comments to the deputation to The deputation will respond as necessary.