Deans & Regional Presidents

The Deans of the 16 regions of the Diocese of Virginia are appointed by the Bishop and are the Bishop’s representatives in each region. Together with the Presidents of the regions, they lead their regional council in ensuring the ministrations of the church area available to all persons in each region.

The Presidents of the 16 regions of the Diocese of Virginia are elected by each Regional Council. Each Regional Council is composed of members elected by the churches within each region. The Presidents work with the Deans of each region to convene the Regional Council and ensure the ministrations of the church are available to all persons within the region. Regional Councils also elect representatives to the Executive Board.

Deans for 2019

Region Dean Church and Appointment Date
Alexandria Region The Very Rev. Randy Alexander Immanuel on the Hill, Alexandria (2018)
Arlington Region The Very Rev. Kim Coleman Trinity, Arlington (2018)
Central Richmond Region The Very Rev. Hilary Smith Holy Comforter, Richmond (1/2018)
Charlottesville Region The Very Rev. Cass Bailey Trinity, Charlottesville (11/2017)
Culpeper Region The Very Rev. Ben Shelton St. Stephen’s, Culpeper (11/2017)
Fredericksburg Region The Very Rev. Catherine Hicks St. Peter’s, Port Royal (2017)
North Fairfax Region The Very Rev. Denise Trogdon Holy Cross, Dunn Loring (2018)
North Richmond Region The Very Rev. Connor Newlun St. Paul’s, Hanover (11/2017)
Northern Neck Region The Very Rev. Lucia Lloyd St. Stephen’s, Heathsville (11/2017)
Northern Piedmont Region The Very Rev. Mark Feather St. James', Leesburg (2018)
Potomac Region The Very Rev. Kathy Guin St. Margaret’s, Woodbridge (11/2017)
South Fairfax Region The Very Rev. Tim Heflin St. Andrew’s, Burke (2017)
So. Shenandoah Valley Region The Very Rev. Cathy Tibbetts Christ Church, Luray (11/2017)
Upper Tidewater Region The Very Rev. Cathy McKinney Varina, Henrico (2018)
West Richmond Region The Very Rev. Shirley Smith Graham Christ Church, Richmond (2017)
Winchester Region The Very Rev. Matt Rhodes Cunningham Chapel Parish (2018)

Regional Presidents for 2019

Region President Church
Alexandria Region  Ms. Susan Hahn Christ Church, Alexandria
Arlington Region Mr. Peter Wehmann St. Andrew's, Arlington
Central Richmond Region Ms. Mickie Jones St. Mark's, Richmond
Charlottesville Region Ms. Barbara McMurry Grace, Keswick
Culpeper Region Ms. Cady Soukup Trinity, Washington
Fredericksburg Region Mr. Harry Dickinson Trinity, Fredericksburg
North Fairfax Region Ms. Joni Langevoort Holy Comforter, Vienna
North Richmond Region Mr. Dave Jennings Immanuel, Old Church, Mechanicsville 
Northern Neck Region Ms. Becky Marks North Farnham, Farnham
Northern Piedmont Region Ms. Janet Lyman Christ Church, Lucketts  
Potomac Region Mr. Scott Caulkins Olivet, Alexandria
South Fairfax Region Ms. Cindy McLaughlin St. Barnabas, Annandale
So. Shenandoah Valley Region Mr. Jeff Guenther Emmanuel, Woodstock
Upper Tidewater Region Ms. Josie Thorpe Kingston Parish, Mathews
West Richmond Region Mr. Rick Gibbs St. Martin's, Richmond
Winchester Region Ms. Nadine Pluchinsky Grace, Berryville